The Museum welcomes all visitors. The building was built in 1909 as the Offices of Bushey Urban District Council, however since it became a museum and art gallery Bushey Museum Trust has endeavoured to improve the accessibility and the facilities to enable all visitors to have an enjoyable experience.
There is a blue badge parking bay in the small car park at the rear of the building. This is allocated on a first come first serve basis.
The main entrance off Rudolph Road is up 3 steps or a gently inclined ramp (gradient of 1 in 20) with handrails adjacent.
Once inside the building there are no steps and all the ground floor galleries are laid out with sufficient space to manoeuvre a wheelchair (see the access statement for details of door and corridor widths).
The Herkomer Room and art galleries on the first floor are accessible by means of a 8 person passenger lift (1100mm wide by 1400mm deep) with a door opening width of 800mm. There are two steps within the first floor, but the lift gives access to both levels.
Wheelchair accessible toilet facilities are available on the ground floor and first floor.
Further details of the access and facilities for disabled people is available in our access policy statement here.
New modern toilets have been installed as part of the recent improvements. There is limited car parking on the museum site but plenty of space is available in nearby Kemp Place free public car park. The Museum has a small meeting room available for hire at attractive rates. Details from Museum office on (020) 8420 4057.
This site meets the following validation criteria for the World Wide Web consortium (w3c):